Training and Certification

Rubel Khan's Blog

Lean Six Sigma Certifications

Posted by Rubel Khan on October 20, 2010

The IASSC Universally Accepted Lean Six Sigma Body of Knowledge (ILSSBOK) is an embodiment of the consensus of what industry expects of a Lean Six Sigma Black Belt, Lean Six Sigma Green Belt and a Lean Six Sigma Yellow Belt. The ILSSBOK is the result of research that was conducted over a two year period. The goal was to characterize the standard knowledge requirements that are universally expected of a Lean Six Sigma Black Belt, Green Belt and Yellow Belt. With input from 1000′s of Deployment Leaders, Master Blacks Belts, Black Belts and Green Belts from 100′s of various companies and industry sectors the LSSBOK™ is truly the Voice of the Industry.

This is a significant breakthrough, for the 1st time in the history of Lean Six Sigma the industry itself has defined what it deems is as a relevant and practical version of the knowledge expectations of a Lean Six Sigma Black Belt, Green Belt and Yellow Belt.

The ILSSBOK consists of five primary sections each of which is broken into sub-categories. This Body of Knowledge serves as the basis for what many of today’s leading Lean Six Sigma companies consider to be standard and expected knowledge requirements of a Lean Six Sigma Black Belt, Lean Six Sigma Green Belt and Lean Six Sigma Yellow Belt.

The Industry and IASSC Members will have opportunities to participate in surveys and polls addressing the content of the ILSSBOK.  Items will continually be developed to ensure the measurement of the exams accurately represents the ILSSBOK. The questions contained within the ICBB, ICGB and ICYB Exams are designed to assess an individual’s knowledge level of the subjects contained within the ILSSBOK. IASSC intends to continue this initial research in a formal manner to ensure practical standards and industry expectations are continually represented within the ILSSBOK.


IASSC Certification Exams provide the opportunity to acquire an unbiased, third-party endorsement of your professional knowledge.

The IASSC Certified Black Belt Exam, IASSC Certified Green Belt Exam and IASSC Certified Yellow Belt Exam are designed to measure a person’s knowledge of the IASSC Universally Accepted Lean Six Sigma Body of Knowledge.

Steps to IASSC Certification:

Step 1. Purchase a Black Belt, Green Belt or Yellow Belt Exam Voucher. They never expire and you can use it whenever you are ready.

Step 2.
Complete your IASSC Member Profile. This includes some standard information about yourself and your professional experience.

Step 3. Schedule to sit for the exam whenever it’s convenient for you. Select from 8000 plus testing locations across the world. They are open during standard business hours 5 to 6 days per week.

Step 4. Sit for the Exam. You’ll have up to 4 hours to complete the ICBB exam, up to 3 hours to complete the ICGB exam and up to 2 hours to complete the ICYB exam.

Step 5. IASSC will contact you within 7 business days with the results of your Certification Status and subsequently deliver your Certificate.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: