Training and Certification

Rubel Khan's Blog

Where are the Virtual Business Cards?

Posted by Rubel Khan on August 18, 2009

A few months ago we announced the Virtual Business Card project to be launched in August.  It’s now August and a lot of you are asking where it is. Well, it’s not done and probably won’t launch until mid-late September.  Let me explain what’s going on in the background and while it won’t make up for the fact that it’s delayed, I hope that at least you’ll recognize that we’re not leaving you high and dry.  I will be as transparent as possible (that’s just the way I do things), but there are a few things I’m not legally allowed to discuss such as contract terms and monetary issues.

When we announced the project we had high standards and a very aggressive timeline.  Our angency and partner, Hawkeye have been amazing collaborators through this project and have done some awesome work with the VBCs.  When we saw the final work they delivered in late July, we realized that our timeline was too aggressive and there were many features left out of the build.  As a result, we’ve asked them to add a few features prior to a launch because we believed that it wouldn’t be a good benefit to you if we launched it in its current shape.  I’m not saying that it’s a poor product or experience right now – on the contrary it looks great and I think you’ll like it.  But we think we can do much better and we will.

Let me give you a sneak peak into what we have thus far.  First, here’s a screenshot of the opening page.  As you can see, we’ve really tried to make the look and feel very different from the “normal” MCP stuff you’ve seen to date. (Click to enlarge)

  firsttimevisitor

 

Here you can see the card creator in action.  You can select what certification will appear on the card itself and what certs will appear on your profile page.  As you make changes, it’ll update the card dynamically so you can see what it will look like.  (Click to enlarge)

 createcardstep8certificatios

 We’ll have more screenshots later.  I’ll keep you updated to when we get closer to launch.  Thanks for your patience.

Source: http://borntolearn.mslearn.net/2009/08/where-are-the-virtual-business-cards

One Response to “Where are the Virtual Business Cards?”

  1. I felt your need simply because felt the desire to
    actually write it eventually. You spent time writing up a thing that
    I read. I understand choosing what I read isn’t especially invariably my preference. I sometimes skim what I was tracking down. So yeah, thanks and saying hello

Leave a Reply

 
